L'enfer vert dans le monde rouge

EXPLORATION & EXPLOITATION ALLUVIALE
PHOTOGÉOLOGIE | SISMIQUE | FORAGE BANKA | GESTION | ENTRAINEMENT

Cliquez pour voir le profil professionnel


OR
  or
  chimie d'or
  gold transport
  gold production
Géologie d'Or
  dépôts
alluvionnaires

  dépôts primaires
  gold maps
Histoire d'Or
  traditions d'or
  primitive
  classique
  médiéval
  renaissance
  après-renaissance

DIAMONDS
  diamonds
  exploration
  diamond production
  commerce des diamants
  diamond value
  diamond wars
  coupe du diamant
Histoire du diamand
  mining history
  grands et fameux
Images des Diamants
  images des diamants
Pierres Précieuses
  rubies
  sapphires
  emeralds
  aquamarines
  gem cutting

EXPLORATION ALLUVIAL
  survey
Foreuses BANKA
  drilling manual
  HAND drills
  drill parts
  tools 1
  tools 2
  tools 3
  tools 4
  MOTOR drills

EXPLOITATION ALLUVIAL
example
Engines
DEUTZ engines
diesel-engines
Equipments
mining systems
gravel pumps
water pumps
high pressure
 water pumps

pump stands
couplings
engine-pump frames
Pipes, Hoses, etc.
water systems
Recovery systems
recovery systems
gold recovery
diamond recovery
River Dredges
diver-less dredges
Accessories
generators
firefighting pumps
Trucks 4x4
4x4 trucks
Spare Parts
parts
Pricing
Prices

SERVICES
photogéologie
sismique
gestion
profil professionel
photos
contact

english version - the english version

ALLUVIAUX - ÉLUVIAUX

Les descriptions de typiques districts des dépôts aurifères alluviaux et de plage

Les dépôts alluviaux étaient le premier type des dépôts d'or travaillé par homme. Les écrits anciens chinois et hindous mentionnent ces dépôts, et nous avons l'histoire de Jason dans la mythologie grecque, le commandant du bateau Argo qui a cherché la Toison D'or à Colchis en Asie Minore sur le rivage lointain de Mer l'Euxine (Noir). Le métal or est représenté aussi largement dans le Vieux Testament, et il y a beaucoup d'allusions à sa source dans les dépôts. Herodotus et Strabo, l'historiens et le géographe grec respectivement, à maintes reprises mentionnent le fonctionnement de dépôts alluviaux dans Thrace, les Îles Égées et l'Asie Mineur. Pliny, en écrivant au début de notre époque, décrit beaucoup des opérations de dépôts alluviaux romaines qui paraissent avoir était étiré d'Asie Minore en Espagne, la France et les Galles. En particulier il mentionne de l'or dans le lit de ruisseaux du Tage en Espagne, le Pô en Italie, le Hebrus en Thracia, le Pactolus en l'Asie Minore et le Gange en Inde, le dernier probablement d'ouï-dire. Pliny mentionne le lavage à grande eau et la collection d'or sur ulex, une plante épineuse qui était brûlé et l'or lavé hors des cendres. Au Moyen-Age un peu d'or a été gagné des vieux dépôts de la région méditerranéenne et d'Europe de l'Ouest, mais avant la redécouverte d'Amérique par Colomb en 1492 presque tout de ces dépôts ont été épuisés.

Quand Colomb a fait son premier atterrissage dans le Nouveau Monde il a trouvé les autochtones en possession d'or, et explorant plus tard dans l'Hispaniola (Haïti) en 1493 durant le deuxième voyage, il a observé des opérations brutes de lavage d'or dans les ruisseaux et les rivières d'intérieur. En 1494 Alonso de Qieda a découvert les riches dépôts Cibao, et une année plus tard Pablo Belvis est arrivé d'Espagne avec une grande quantité de mercure pour les buts de l'amalgamation. Le premier or gagné a été envoyé immédiatement au Roi d'Espagne qui l'a donné au Pape Alexander VI à Rome où il a été consacré au service de Christianisme dans la dorure d'un dôme de cathédrale. Donc a commencé la célèbre auri sacra fames des Espagnol en Amérique qu'a causé des tels dégâts sur les autochtones et était aussi la source du commerce d'esclave nègre au Nouveau Monde. Beaucoup de fois l'histoire sordide a été dite et on n'a pas le besoin de la répété ici; c'est une des pages noires dans l'histoire d'exploitation minière de l'or.

Une histoire plus agréable peut être écrite au sujet des grandes ruées vers l'or du dernier siècle. Les graviers avec l'or alluvial ont été travaillés en l'Altai de Sibérie dès 1820, mais quelques 9 années plus tard les dépôts alluviaux étendus ont été trouvés dans le Basin de Lena, probablement le plus grand dépot d'or alluvial connu. Ces découvertes ont mené finalement à la colonisation de Sibérie du Sud. Ceux-ci et autres dépôts en Sibérie de l'Est sont encore travaillés largement aujourd'hui. La grande ruée de l'or de 1849 en Californie peut être resposable pour avoir ouvert l'Amérique de l'Ouest.

La ruée vers l'or de Californie a été suivie en 1851 par les ruées australiennes à Nouvelle Galles du Sud et Victoria, un élan minier qui depuis a gardé l'Australie dans le premier rang de producteurs minéraux mondiaux. Les graviers d'or de la Rivière Fraser en Colombie Britannique ont été connus depuis 1852, mais ce n'était que jusqu'à 1858 que la grande ruée vers le haut Fraser a commencé, finalement en 1861 atteignant les ruisseaux Williams et Lightning dans le Cariboo, les plus célèbres de tous les ruisseaux d'or dans la province. Les dépôts d'or dans la Cuvette de Yukon ont été travaillés dès 1880, mais ce n'était que jusqu'à 1896, et peut-être 2 années plus tôt d'après quelques comptes, que l'or a été découvert sur les tributaires de la Rivière Klondike. La grande ruée a eu lieu en 1897-1898 à Dawson - une des plus grandes ruées de l'or en histoire et certainement la plus coloré, fait immortel par Robert W. Service dans son roman The Trail of '98, et dans ses poèmes, Chansons d'un Sourdough et Ballades d'un Cheechako.

Les dépôts d'or alluviaux dans les ruisseaux et les rivières ont été les plus riches et de la plupart de l'intérêt au prospecteur. Mais quelques dépôts de plage ont aussi attrapé son oeil et ont été travaillés largement. L'or a été découvert en Alaska aussi loin que 1865-1866 et la prospection alluviale dans les ruisseaux et les rivières Nome proche soit au zénith en 1899, l'année que l'or a été découvert sur les plages par un soldat et un prospecteur.

Là a suivi un creusage et des fouilles affolées le long de la côte pour beaucoup de milles, plus d'un million de dollars ont été gagné à la main des bascules dans moins de 2 mois.

Les méthodes du mineur de dépôt alluvial ont changé beaucoup depuis le temps de Jason. Originairement l'homme tôt a cueilli probablement à la main les brillantes pépites lourdes des graviers des ruisseaux. C'est l'étape à laquelle Colomb et ses ingénieurs des mines ont trouvé quelques-uns des autochtones qui travaillent les dépôts de Haïti. Plus tard les graviers des ruisseaux ont été agités par les ouvriers qui utilisaient les opérations de tonner brut (hushing) et le lavage à grande eau sur les toisons de mouton et la peau de chèvre, l'or reste piégé principalement dans la laine et les cheveux de chèvre. Cette méthode est employée apparemment encore dans quelques dépôts des ruisseaux de l'Asie Mineur, d'Afghanistan et de la Mongolie. Le lavage est certainement une vieille technique sue aux anciens autochtones du Vieux Monde et d'Afrique qui ont utilisé la calebasse (gourde) et les autochtones de Amérique Central et du Sud qui ont employé le batea. Les Grecs et Romains possédaient la bascule et l'écluse, et ils étaient habiles aux opérations de tonner (hushing). Ce qui ont cherché l'or sous les conditions désertiques ont longtemps connu la machine à laver sec ou ventilateur sec. Les opérations du moniteur d'eau-écluse, du bulldozer-écluse et de la dragline-écluse et les grandes dragues mécaniques sont les adaptations mécaniques modernes de techniques séculaires de séparation d'or du rebut.

Les dépôts du ravin et du ruisseau

Les dépôts du ravin et de ruisseau sont communs dans presque tous districts alluviaux du monde. Ils s'allongent dans les petites vallées, conduits et ravins qui sont tributaire aux principaux systèmes d'un district. Littéralement les milliers de ces dépôts ont été travaillés, presque tous avec les petites moyennes.

Les caractéristiques principales de ces types de dépôts sont:
1. Les pluparts se produisent dans le pays modérément accidenté exposé aux effets d'érosion prolongée et de la dénudation. Quelques-uns se produisent dans les régions de topographie alpine, mais ceux-ci sont marqués généralement par les bandes payantes interrompues.
2. Les inclinaisons du ruisseau des systèmes présents (et passés) sont modérées.
3. La source d'or et des minéraux lourds associé est généralement proche, en têtes des ravins et des ruisseaux ou le long de leurs côtés de vallée. La source d'or est communément les veines du quartz aurifère ou les sulfure massives aurifères; l'or disséminé en "blows" et le veines de quartz dans les roches du pays et dans pyrites et autres sulfures dans les schistes graphitiques et les autres roches sont la principale source dans quelques Exemples.
4. Les composants minéraux lourds qui accompagnent l'or sont principalement ce trouvés dans les dépôts primaires d'or, dans les dépôts associés ou dans les roches du pays.
5. L'or est habituellement grossier et communément plus pure que dans les dépôts primaires. Les grandes pépites, fils et cristaux sont un trait, et nodules de quartz de la veine ou les sulfures avec veinettes d'or ou contenant l'or disséminé sont communs.
6. Les bandes payantes sont riches et généralement sur le soubassement ou juste au-dessus du soubassement. La plupart des bandes payantes sont bien définies et assez constantes. Les faux fonds peuvent se produire mais ne sont pas un trait commun.
7. La surcharge couvrant les bandes payantes n'est pas généralement profonde sauf dans les régions en déclin ou où les dépôts glaciaires compliquent l'image.

Les dépôts du ravin et de ruisseau sont communs dans le Yukon et un nombre produisez-vous dans la région Keno Hill-Galena Hill. Un en particulier, Dublin Gulch, est typique et servira comme un exemple des dépôts du ravin et de ruisseau qu'on peut rencontrer dans le monde entier.

Les dépôts de Dublin Gulch et du ruisseau Haggart ont été découverts et en premier ont été travaillé en 1898. Les basses collines arrondies et nombreux petits ruisseaux tributaire aux cours d'eau principaux, marques d'un haut pays profondément disséqué, caractérisent la topographie. Le soubassement de la région, plié et entrecoupé par failles, est de quartzite, phyllite, schiste graphitique, calcaire et schiste du quartz-mica du Groupe Yukon introduit par les corps de granodiorite et granite probablement d'âge Crétacé. Le skarn, portant scheelite, est développé en places près des rocs graniteux. De plus il y a des nombreux stringers du quartz qui portent wolframite et scheelite dans les roches graniteuses et leur zone de contact, un filon de cassiterite-tourmaline et plusieurs Nord-Est veines du quartz avec l'arsenopyrite, la pyrite et les sulfosels aurifères. La moyenne de la matière de la veine primaire est approximativement 6.4 g Au/ton et 48 g Ag/ton. L'or est pour une grande part submicroscopic à microscopique et est principalement dans l'arsenopyrite, la pyrite et les sulfosels; seulement rarement l'or est libre vu dans le quartz et les sulfures.


Les liens associés:

[ Les dépôts alluvionnaires  1 2 3 Eluvial 5 6 Alluvial 8 9 10 Exemples 12 13 14 15 ]

RECOMMANDEZ CETTE PAGE:

Sismique 


Rafal Swiecki, ingénieur géologue contacte par courriel

Ce document est dans le domaine publique.

March, 2011

Green hell in red world

ALLUVIAL EXPLORATION & MINING
PHOTOGEOLOGY | SEISMIC SURVEY | BANKA DRILLING | MANAGEMENT | TRAINING

Click to see a professional profile


GOLD
  gold
  gold chemistry
  gold transport
  gold production
Gold Geology
  alluvial deposits
  primary deposits
  gold maps
Gold History
  gold lore
  primitive
  classic
  medieval
  renaissance
  post-renaissance

DIAMONDS
  diamonds
  exploration
  diamond production
  diamond trade
  diamond value
  diamond wars
  diamond cutting
Diamonds History
  mining history
  large and famous
Diamond Pictures
  diamond pictures
Precious Stones
  rubies
  sapphires
  emeralds
  aquamarines
  gem cutting

ALLUVIAL EXPLORATION
  survey
BANKA Alluvial Drills
  drilling manual
  HAND drills
  drill parts
  tools 1
  tools 2
  tools 3
  tools 4
  MOTOR drills

ALLUVIAL MINING
example
Engines
DEUTZ engines
diesel-engines
Equipments
mining systems
gravel pumps
water pumps
high pressure
 water pumps

pump stands
couplings
engine-pump frames
Pipes, Hoses, etc.
water systems
Recovery systems
recovery systems
gold recovery
diamond recovery
River Dredges
diver-less dredges
Accessories
generators
firefighting pumps
Trucks 4x4
4x4 trucks
Spare Parts
parts
Pricing
Prices

SERVICES
photo geology
seismic survey
field manager
profile
photos
contact

la version française - la version française

ELUVIAL-ALLUVIAL

Examples of alluvial deposits

Descriptions of typical auriferous alluvial and beach placers and districts

Alluvial placers were the first type of gold deposits worked by man. Ancient Chinese and Hindu writings mention these deposits, and we have the story in Greek mythology of Jason, commander of the good ship Argo, who sought the Golden Fleece at Colchis in Asia Minor on the far shore of the Euxine (Black) Sea. The metal gold also figures extensively in the Old Testament, and there are many allusions to its source in placers. Herodotus and Strabo, the Greek historian and geographer respectively, repeatedly mention the working of alluvial placers in Thrace, the Aegean Islands and Asia Minor. Pliny, writing at the beginning of our era, describes many of the Roman placer operations, which seem to have stretched from Asia Minor to Spain, France and Wales. In particular he mentions gold in the streambeds of the Tagus in Spain, the Po in Italy, the Hebrus in Thracia, the Pactolus in Asia Minor and the Ganges in India, the last probably from hearsay. Pliny mentions booming and sluicing and collection of gold on ulex, a rough, prickly plant that was burned and the gold washed out of the ashes. In the Dark and Middle Ages some gold was won from the old placers of the Mediterranean area and Western Europe, but by the time of the rediscovery of America by Columbus in 1492 nearly all of these placers were exhausted.

When Columbus made his first landfall in the New World he found the natives in possession of gold, and later exploring in Hispaniola (Haiti) in 1493 on the second voyage he observed crude placer operations in the streams and rivers of the interior. In 1494 Alonso de Qieda discovered the rich Cibao placers, and a year later Pablo Belvis arrived from Spain with a large quantity of mercury for amalgamation purposes. The first gold won was sent immediately to the King of Spain, who donated it to Pope Alexander VI in Rome where it was dedicated to the service of Christianity in the gilding of a cathedral dome. Thus began the auri sacra fames of the Spaniards in America that was to wreak such havoc on the natives and was also to introduce the Negro slave trade to the New World. The sordid story has been told many times and need not be repeated here; it is one of the black pages in the history of gold mining.

A more pleasant story can be written about the great gold rushes of the last century. Alluvial gold gravels were worked in the Altai of Siberia as early as 1820, but some 9 years later extensive alluvial deposits were found in the Lena Basin, probably the largest alluvial gold deposits known. These discoveries led ultimately to the colonization of southern Siberia. These and other deposits in eastern Siberia are still worked extensively today. The great gold rush of 1849 to California can be said to have opened up the American west.

The California gold rush was followed in 1851 by the Australian rushes to New South Wales and Victoria, an impetus to mining that has kept Australia in the forefront of world mineral production ever since. The golden gravels of the

Fraser River in British Columbia were known as far back as 1852, but it was not until 1858 that the great stampede up the Fraser began ultimately in 1861 reaching Williams and Lightning creeks in the Cariboo, the most celebrated of all gold creeks in the province. Gold placers in the Yukon Basin were worked as early as 1880, but it was not until 1896, and perhaps 2 years earlier according to some accounts, that gold was discovered on the tributaries of the Klondike River. The great rush took place in 1897-1898 to Dawson - one of the greatest gold rushes in history and certainly the most colorful, made immortal by Robert W. Service in his novel The Trail of '98, and in his poems, Songs of a Sourdough and Ballads of a Cheechako.

Alluvial gold placers in streams and rivers have been the richest and of most interest to the prospector. But some beach placers have also caught his eye and have been extensively worked. Gold was discovered in Alaska as far back as 1865-1866 and alluvial prospecting in the streams and rivers near Nome was in full swing in 1899, the year that gold was discovered on the beaches by a soldier and a prospector.

There followed a frenzied digging and grubbing along the coast for many miles, more than one million dollars having been won by hand rockers in less than 2 months.

The methods of the alluvial placer miner have changed much since Jason's time. Originally, early man probably plucked by hand the heavy shining nuggets from the gravels of the streams. This is the stage at which Columbus and his mining engineers found some of the natives working the placers of Haiti. Later the gravels of the streams were stirred up by the workers using crude booming (hushing) operations and sluiced over the fleeces of sheep and goat pelts, the gold remaining mainly trapped within the wool and goat's hair. This method is apparently still employed in some of the placer streams of Asia Minor, Afghanistan and Mongolia. Panning is an old technique certainly known to the ancients of the Old World and the natives of Africa who used the calabash (gourd) and the natives of Central and South America who employed the batea. The Greeks and Romans knew the rocker and the sluice, and they were adept at booming (hushing) operations. Those who have sought gold under desert conditions have long known the dry washer or dry blower. The water monitor-sluice, bulldozer-sluice and dragline-sluice operations and the great mechanical dredges are modern mechanical adaptations of age-old techniques of separating the gold from the dross.

Gulch and creek placers

Gulch and creek placers are common in nearly all placer districts of the world. They lie in the small valleys, guts and gulches that are tributary to the mainstream systems of a district. Literally thousands of these deposits have been worked, nearly all in a small way. The main characteristics of these types of placers are:

1. Most occur in moderately hilly country exhibiting the effects of protracted weathering and denudation. A few occur in regions of alpine topography, but these are generally marked by spotty pay streaks.

2. The gradients of the present (and past) stream systems are moderate.

3. The source of the gold and associated heavy minerals is generally close at hand, either at the heads of the gulches and creeks or along their valley sides. The source of the gold is commonly auriferous quartz veins or gold-bearing sulphide bodies; disseminated gold in quartz blows and stringers in the country rocks and in pyrite and other sulphides in graphitic shales and other rocks is the principal source in some instances.

4. The heavy mineral constituents accompanying the gold are mainly those found in the primary gold deposits, in closely associated deposits or in the enclosing country rocks.

5. The gold is usually coarse and commonly higher in fineness than that in the primary deposits. Large nuggets, wires and crystals are a feature, and nodules of vein quartz or sulphides with veinlets of gold or containing disseminated gold are common.

6. The pay streaks are rich and generally on the bedrock or in the top few feet of the bedrock. Most pay streaks are well defined and fairly regular. False bottoms may occur but are not a common feature.

7. The overburden covering the pay streaks is generally not deep except in depressed areas or where glacial deposits complicate the picture.

Gulch and creek placers are common in the Yukon and a number occur in the Keno Hill-Galena Hill area. One in particular, Dublin Gulch, is typical and will serve as an example of what one might expect to encounter with gulch and creek placers the world over.

The Dublin Gulch and Haggart Creek placers were discovered and first worked in 1898. Relatively low rounded hills and numerous small streams tributary to the main watercourses, all marks of a deeply dissected upland, characterize the topography. The bedrock of the area is folded and faulted quartzite, phyllite, graphitic schist, limestone and quartz-mica schist of the Yukon Group intruded by a body of granodiorite and granite probably of Cretaceous age. Skarn, carrying scheelite, is developed in places near the granitic rocks. In addition there are numerous quartz stringers carrying wolframite and scheelite in the granitic rocks and their contact zone, a cassiterite-tourmaline lode and several northeast striking gold-bearing quartz-arsenopyrite-pyrite-sulphosalt veins. Primary vein material in these veins averages about 6.4 g Au/ton and 48 g Ag/ton. The gold is largely submicroscopic to microscopic and is mainly in the arsenopyrite, pyrite and sulphosalts; only rarely is free gold seen in the quartz and sulphides.

[ Placer Deposits 1  2  3  Eluvial  5  6  Alluvial  8  9  10  Examples  12  13  14  15 ]

Maps of alluvial gold deposits in: California, Western Canada, Eastern Canada, Russia, World
Maps of primary gold deposits in: Precambrian, Paleozoic, Mesozoic, Cenozoic Rocks


Related links:
Recomend this page:


Seismic Survey 


Rafal Swiecki, geological engineer email contact

This document is in the public domain.

March, 2011