L'enfer vert dans le monde rouge

EXPLORATION & EXPLOITATION ALLUVIALE
PHOTOGÉOLOGIE | SISMIQUE | FORAGE BANKA | GESTION | ENTRAINEMENT

Cliquez pour voir le profil professionnel


OR
  or
  chimie d'or
  gold transport
  gold production
Géologie d'Or
  dépôts
alluvionnaires

  dépôts primaires
  gold maps
Histoire d'Or
  traditions d'or
  primitive
  classique
  médiéval
  renaissance
  après-renaissance

DIAMONDS
  diamonds
  exploration
  diamond production
  commerce des diamants
  diamond value
  diamond wars
  coupe du diamant
Histoire du diamand
  mining history
  grands et fameux
Images des Diamants
  images des diamants
Pierres Précieuses
  rubies
  sapphires
  emeralds
  aquamarines
  gem cutting

EXPLORATION ALLUVIAL
  survey
Foreuses BANKA
  drilling manual
  HAND drills
  drill parts
  tools 1
  tools 2
  tools 3
  tools 4
  MOTOR drills

EXPLOITATION ALLUVIAL
example
Engines
DEUTZ engines
diesel-engines
Equipments
mining systems
gravel pumps
water pumps
high pressure
 water pumps

pump stands
couplings
engine-pump frames
Pipes, Hoses, etc.
water systems
Recovery systems
recovery systems
gold recovery
diamond recovery
River Dredges
diver-less dredges
Accessories
generators
firefighting pumps
Trucks 4x4
4x4 trucks
Spare Parts
parts
Pricing
Prices

SERVICES
photogéologie
sismique
gestion
profil professionel
photos
contact

english version - the english version

ALLUVIAUX

Les Dépôts Alluviaux

La dynamique du mouvement des particules sédimentaires dans les ruisseaux et les rivières est d'intérêt dans la formation de dépôts alluviaux. Les facteurs impliqués sont nombreux, y compris la vélocité de l'eau qui dépend essentiellement de la pente; le degré de turbulence du courant, le poids spécifique des minéraux qui sont transportés et la nature du lit du ruisseau ou de la rivière.

Deux types de la charge solide transportée par les ruisseaux et les rivières peuvent être distingués - la charge suspendue et la charge du lit. La charge suspendue est maintenue principalement dans le cours d'eau par la turbulence, bien que le flottage des particules sédimentaires ayant des bulles d'air attachés puisse être important en places. La charge du lit consiste en la matière qui est roulée, tiré, glissé ou autrement emporté sur le lit du ruisseau par la traction ou la saltation (le déplacement des cailloux le long du fond dans une série de bonds). En plus de ces mouvements il y a un mouvement constant du sédiment en bas de la pente. Cet effet est petit où la pente est mineure, mais peut être marqué où les hautes pentes prédominent. Comme une approximation il est dit que le pouvoir du transport d'un ruisseau varie comme le sixième pouvoir de la vélocité. Les calculs montrent qu'un ruisseau qui court 1 m/sec portera une pierre ou une pépite qui pèse approximativement 85 g; à 2 m/sec une pesant 20 kg; à 5 m/sec une pesant 1.4 tonnes; et ainsi de suite. C'est facile de comprendre qu'une course d'eau qui descend un ravin à 10 m/sec, comme pendant temps de l'inondation, peut déplacer des roches qui pèsent 100 tonnes et plus.

L'évolution d'un paysage suivant une élévation générale au-dessus de niveau de la mer suit les modèles définis qui dépendent essentiellement du montant de pluie reçus. Dans les districts avec les climats humides la plupart des rivières coulent vers les océans, bien qu'ils soient interrompus en places par les lacs. Quatre étapes normales d'évolution des systèmes de l'écoulement dans les régions humides peuvent être reconnues:
(1) l'initiale
(2) le jeune
(3) le mûr
(4) l'âgé

Pendant l'étape initiale les inclinaisons sont basses, les dépressions sont remplies de l'eau, et ruisselle paresseusement suivent plusieurs ravins et des défauts dans le roc. Le taux d'érosion est minime, et peu des dépôts alluviaux sont formés. Comme l'étape de l'age jeune prend place dans un modèle intégré des ruisseaux majeurs avec les nombreux tributaires développent par érosion descendante en haut-inclinaison, la majorité des lacs disparaissent et vallées en V, et en places les ravins escarpés, les canyons et les gorges, marquent le paysage. Avec le temps le modèle évolutionnaire normal développe jusqu'à la maturité. Quelques dépôts alluviaux du ravin, de ruisseau, et de rivière développent d'une manière caractéristique pendant ces étapes. Comme les rivières érodent vers leur niveau bas, l'érosion latérale développe plus largement et les vallées plus larges avec les côtés à faible inclinaison, les plaines d'inondation sont formées, et les cours sans plan qui divaguent ça et là du canal au canal sont caractéristiques. Quelques dépôts alluviaux du ruisseau continuent à se développer, mais les dépôts alluviaux de rivière, de plaine d'inondation et deltaïques sont la marque de cette étape. L'érosion lente continue des rivières et des ruisseaux ou l'élévation continental peut laisser les restes de premiers sols de vallée comme terrasses dans lesquelles les restes des anciens dépôts alluviaux sont conservés. Durant l'âge avancé le niveau de la terre entière est réduit à une pénéplaine caractérisé par un relief bas avec les collines basses arrondies, les vallées peu profondes, les paysages roulants et les rivières paresseuses marquées par méandres et les lacs de l'oxbow qui coulent dans plusieurs directions en suivant les inclinaisons très basses qui prédominent. Peu des dépôts alluviaux sont formés pendant cette étape.

Dans les climats arides le modèle évolutionnaire est considérablement différent, principalement à cause de la réduite chute de pluie, l'absence du sol épais et le manque de végétation. L'érosion du vent est plus importante dans les tels climats; la solifluction le long des côtés de vallée est réduite à cause du manque d'humidité, et les nombreuses cuvettes d'écoulement intérieur développent généralement sans rapports avec océans. La précipitation peu fréquente pendant l'étape jeune engendre nombreux ruisseaux non-intégrés dans les vallées escarpées qui coupe très en arrière dans les pays montagneux. Avec la maturité croissante un écoulement pauvrement intégré développe principalement dans les cuvettes fermées qui sont marquées par pédiments sur lesquels les éventails alluviaux peuvent se former. Dans le modèle âgé l'écoulement est généralement complètement désagrégé, en il n'y a pas dans les plupart des districts aucuns ruisseaux long et communément aucune interconnexion entre ceux qui existent pendant une période pluviale. Les conditions arides ne sont pas particulièrement favorables pour la formation de dépôts alluviaux, bien que quelques-uns puissent se former dans les ravins, dans les canyons et dans les éventails alluviaux sur pédiments où les conditions sont justes. Cependant, les régions arides sont souvent caractérisées par les grands murs d'eau qui se détache des pays montagneux ou montagnes pendant des pluies violentes, descendant en bas des lits secs, des ravins, des canyons et des vallées emportant tout devant eux, et finalement débouchant sur les éventails alluviaux sur les pédiments ou dans les cuvettes fermées. Une telle activité violente n'est pas favorable à la formation de dépôts alluviaux; au contraire ceux ont formé serait lavé à grande eau en bas des ravins, des ruisseaux et des canyons et l'or s'étend sans faire de distinction sur les fonds des vallées et des cuvettes intérieures.

Les dépôts alluviaux désertiques sont petits dans son ensemble et les bandes du salaire sont souvent erratiques et communément éparpillées. Les 'bajadas' ou les dépôts alluviaux du pédiment dans les terrains désertiques peuvent être plus productifs, mais ils sont difficiles à travailler. Les descriptions en haut caractérisent l'évolution normale des modèles de l'écoulement et la formation des dépôts alluviaux sous les extrêmes conditions humides et arides. Mais beaucoup des conditions anormales prédominent dans tout district particulier. Une soudaine élévation durant l'âge mûr ou avancé renouvelle la coupe des canaux et la destruction ou l'enterrement profond des dépôts alluviaux formés. De la même façon, les grandes ou soudaines augmentations dans la chute de pluie peuvent produire des inondations qui lavent à grande eau les ravins, les ruisseaux et les canyons, changeant les cours des rivières, et grandement modifiant, détruisant ou enterrant les dépôts alluviaux les plus récents. Les dépressions de vallées en cuvettes peuvent résulter dans lesquelles les lacs se développent ou les entrées sont formées, lesquels sont envahis par l'océan. Ceux-ci sont remplis finalement de sédiment qui enterre profondément tous les dépôts alluviaux formés dans les vallées. Finalement, les glaciers forment dans les hautes montagnes et s'étendent en bas des ravins et des vallées peuvent labourer tous les sédiments et éparpiller les matières alluviales partout.

L'emplacement de la bande payante dans les dépôts alluviaux a l'intérêt principal pour le mineur. Donné une bande payante de la source de l'or primaire adéquate en général est assez constant et a la continuité considérable dans le pays modérément accidenté où la chute de pluie constante a prédominé et où la déchéance séculière profonde a été suivie par un graduel soulèvement restreint. Toutes aberrations dans ce modèle idéal invariablement cause des variations dans la teneur et la continuité des bandes payantes. Les bandes payantes les plus riches sont ceux-là produites en retravaillant des graviers aurifères préexistant.

La loi de la bande payante dans les dépôts alluviaux est variable selon si le dépôt est formé dans les ravins, dans les canaux de rivière, sur les plaines de l'inondation ou dans les dépôts deltaïques. Lindgren (1911, p.66) a dit de la bande payante en faisant la référence aux dépôts de la Sierra Nevada de Californie quelques-uns qui sont enterrée sous les laves Tertiaires:

"Il est devenu presque un axiome parmi les mineurs d'or de se concentré sur le soubassement et tous les efforts dans l'exploitation minière sont dirigés généralement à trouver le soubassement pour poursuivre des opérations minières là. C'est bien connu à tous les mineurs du mouvement, cependant, que l'or n'est pas distribué également sur le soubassement dans les canaux. La partie la plus riche forme une bande de largeur irrégulière s'est reportée à dans les colonies anglaises comme la "course d'or" et aux États-Unis comme la " bande payante" ou la "course du salaire". Cela n'occupe pas toujours la dépression la plus profonde dans le canal et quelquefois s'enroule irrégulièrement d'un côté à l'autre. Il se passe souvent que les valeurs diminuent rapidement en dehors de la bande payante, mais encore la transition au gravier plus pauvre peut être graduelle. Une explication exacte des excentricités de la bande payante peut être très difficile à fournir. Son cours dépend évidemment des conditions dominantes comme la vélocité du courant et la quantité de matière au temps de la concentration".

Les traits de l'évolution de vallées sont discutés au-dessus mais cette connaissance est seulement d'une valeur générale dans l'étude des dépôts alluviaux. Déterminer correctement l'emplacement de leur bandes payantes, surtout dans les types enterrés et ceux sur les plaines de l'inondation et les deltas, exige le profilage détaillé en creusant des fossés ou en faisant les forages. Les méthodes géophysiques peuvent aider dans quelques terrains. Où l'abri est léger et le soubassement magnétiquement bas, une étude du magnétomètre peut esquisser l'emplacement des sables noirs qui se sont accumulés communément avec l'or. La sismique de réfraction est aussi utilisée pour déterminer les anciens chenaux dans les terrasses.


Les liens associés:

[ Les dépôts alluvionnaires  1 2 3 Eluvial 5 6 Alluvial 8 9 10 Exemples 12 13 14 15 ]

RECOMMANDEZ CETTE PAGE:

Sismique 


Rafal Swiecki, ingénieur géologue contacte par courriel

Ce document est dans le domaine publique.

March, 2011

Green hell in red world

ALLUVIAL EXPLORATION & MINING
PHOTOGEOLOGY | SEISMIC SURVEY | BANKA DRILLING | MANAGEMENT | TRAINING

Click to see a professional profile


GOLD
  gold
  gold chemistry
  gold transport
  gold production
Gold Geology
  alluvial deposits
  primary deposits
  gold maps
Gold History
  gold lore
  primitive
  classic
  medieval
  renaissance
  post-renaissance

DIAMONDS
  diamonds
  exploration
  diamond production
  diamond trade
  diamond value
  diamond wars
  diamond cutting
Diamonds History
  mining history
  large and famous
Diamond Pictures
  diamond pictures
Precious Stones
  rubies
  sapphires
  emeralds
  aquamarines
  gem cutting

ALLUVIAL EXPLORATION
  survey
BANKA Alluvial Drills
  drilling manual
  HAND drills
  drill parts
  tools 1
  tools 2
  tools 3
  tools 4
  MOTOR drills

ALLUVIAL MINING
example
Engines
DEUTZ engines
diesel-engines
Equipments
mining systems
gravel pumps
water pumps
high pressure
 water pumps

pump stands
couplings
engine-pump frames
Pipes, Hoses, etc.
water systems
Recovery systems
recovery systems
gold recovery
diamond recovery
River Dredges
diver-less dredges
Accessories
generators
firefighting pumps
Trucks 4x4
4x4 trucks
Spare Parts
parts
Pricing
Prices

SERVICES
photo geology
seismic survey
field manager
profile
photos
contact

la version française - la version française

ALLUVIAL

Alluvial Deposits

The dynamics of the movement of sedimentary particles in streams and rivers are of interest in the formation of placers. The factors involved are many, including the velocity of the water, which depends essentially on the gradient; the degree of turbulent flow, the specific gravity of the minerals being transported and the nature of the stream or riverbed.

Two types of solid load transported by streams and rivers can be distinguished - the suspended load and the bed load. The suspended load is maintained in the body of water mainly by turbulence, although flotation of sedimentary particles attached to air bubbles may be important in places. The bed load consists of material that is rolled, pulled, slid or otherwise swept along the bed of the stream by traction or saltation (skipping of pebbles along the bottom in a series of leaps). In addition to these movements there is a constant creep of the sediment down gradient. This effect is small where the slope is minor, but may be marked where high gradients prevail. As an approximation it is said that the transporting power of a stream varies as the sixth power of the velocity. Calculations show that a stream running 1 m/sec will carry a stone or nugget weighing about 3 oz; at 2 m/sec one weighing 45 lb; at 5 m/sec one weighing 1.5 tons; and so on. It is easy to understand how a spate of water moving down a gulch at 10 m/sec, as during flood times, can move boulders weighing 100 tons and more.

The evolution of a landscape following a general uplift above sea level follows definite patterns depending essentially on the amount of rainfall received. In districts with humid climates most rivers flow into the oceans, although interrupted in places by lakes. Four normal stages of evolution of drainage systems in humid areas can be recognized:
(1) initial
(2) youthful
(3) mature
(4) old age

During the initial stage the gradients are low, depressions become filled with water, and streams lazily follow various gulleys and flaws in the rock. The rate of erosion is minimal, and few if any placers are formed. As the youthful stage sets in an integrated pattern of major streams with numerous tributaries develops by downward and headward up-gradient erosion, most lakes disappear and V-shaped valleys, and in places steep gulches, canyons and gorges, mark the landscape. With time the normal evolutionary pattern develops further to maturity. Gulch, creek, stream and some river placers are characteristically developed during these stages. As the rivers erode down toward their base level, lateral erosion develops wider and wider valleys with gently sloping sides, flood plains are formed, and meandering courses that wander hither and thither from channel to channel are characteristic. Some creek and stream placers continue to develop, but river, flood plain and deltaic placers are the mark of this stage. Continued slow downcutting of rivers and streams or uplift may leave the remnants of earlier valley floors as terraces in which remnants of the river flood plain placers are preserved. In old age the level of the whole land is reduced to a peneplain characterized by a low relief with low rounded hills, shallow valleys, rolling landscapes and sluggish meandering rivers, marked by oxbow lakes that flow in various directions following the very low gradients that prevail. Few if any placers are formed during this stage.

In arid climates the evolutionary pattern is significantly different, mainly because of reduced rainfall, the absence of thick soil cover and the lack of vegetation. Wind erosion is more important in such climates; extensive downhill creep along valley sides is reduced because of the lack of moisture, and numerous basins of interior drainage develop generally with no connections to oceans. The infrequent precipitation during the youthful stage gives rise to numerous nonintegrated streams in steep-walled valleys that cut deeply back into the highlands. With increasing maturity a poorly integrated drainage develops mostly into closed basins that are marked by pediments on which alluvial fans may form. In old age the drainage pattern is generally completely disintegrated, there being in most districts no streams of any length and commonly no interconnection between those that do exist during a pluvial period. Arid conditions are not particularly favorable for the formation of placers, although some may form in gulches, in canyons and in alluvial fans on pediments where the conditions are right. Arid areas are, however, often characterized by great spates and walls of water that come off the highlands or mountains during cloud bursts, rush down the dry washes, gulches, canyons and valleys carrying everything before them, and finally debouch onto the alluvial fans on pediments or into the closed basins. Such violent activity is not conducive to the formation of placers; on the contrary any that formed would be sluiced down the gulches, creeks and canyons and the gold spread indiscriminately over the lower valley bottoms and inland basins.

Desert placers as a whole are small and the pay streaks are often erratic and commonly scattered. 'Bajada' or 'pediment placers' in desert terrains may be more productive, but they are commonly difficult to work.

The above descriptions characterize the normal evolution of drainage patterns and the formation of placers under the extremes of humid and arid conditions. But many abnormal conditions prevail in any particular district. Sudden uplifts at the mature or old age stages cause renewed downcutting of channels and destruction or deep burial of placers already formed. Similarly, great or sudden increases in rainfall may produce floods that sluice out the gulches, creeks and canyons, change the courses of the rivers, and greatly modify, destroy or bury the most recent placers. Depressions of valleys may result in basins in which lakes develop or inlets are formed, which are invaded by the ocean. These ultimately become filled with sediment burying deeply any placers formed in the valleys. Finally, glaciers forming in high mountains and extending down gulches and valleys may plough out all sediments and scatter the placer materials far and wide.

The location of the pay streaks in placers is of prime interest to the placer miner. Given an adequate primary gold source pay streaks in general are fairly uniform and have considerable continuity in moderately hilly country where uniform rainfall has prevailed and where deep secular decay has been followed by a gradual restricted uplift. Any aberrations in this ideal pattern invariably cause marked variations in the tenor and continuity of the pay streaks. The richest pay streaks are those produced by reworking of preexisting auriferous gravels.

The law of the pay streak in placer deposits is variable depending on whether the placer is formed in gulches, in river channels, on flood plains or in deltaic deposits. Lindgren (1911, p.66) said of the pay streak referring to the deposits of the Sierra Nevada of California, some of which are buried beneath Tertiary lava flows:

"It has become almost an axiom among miners that the gold is concentrated on the bedrock and all efforts in placer mining are generally directed toward finding the bedrock in order to pursue mining operations there. It is well known to all drift miners, however, that the gold is not equally distributed on the bedrock in the channels. The richest part forms a streak of irregular width referred to in the English colonies as the "run of gold" and in the United States as the "pay streak" or "pay lead". This does not always occupy the deepest depression in the channel and sometimes winds irregularly from one side to the other. It often happens that the values rapidly diminish at the outside of the pay lead, but again the transition to poorer gravel may be gradual. An exact explanation of the eccentricities of the pay lead may be very difficult to furnish. Its course depends evidently on the prevailing conditions as to velocity of current and quantity of material at the time of concentration."

The features of the evolution of valleys are discussed above but this knowledge is only of general value in studying placers. To accurately determine the location of their pay streaks, especially in the buried types and those on flood plains and deltas, requires detailed profiling by trenching or overburden drilling. Geophysical methods may assist in some terrains. Where the cover is light and the bedrock magnetically low, a magnetometer survey may outline the position of the magnetic 'black sands' so commonly accumulated with gold.

[ Placer Deposits 1  2  3  Eluvial  5  6  Alluvial  8  9  10  Examples  12  13  14  15 ]

Maps of alluvial gold deposits in: California, Western Canada, Eastern Canada, Russia, World
Maps of primary gold deposits in: Precambrian, Paleozoic, Mesozoic, Cenozoic Rocks


Related links:
Recomend this page:


Seismic Survey 


Rafal Swiecki, geological engineer email contact

This document is in the public domain.

March, 2011