L'enfer vert dans le monde rouge

EXPLORATION & EXPLOITATION ALLUVIALE
PHOTOGÉOLOGIE | SISMIQUE | FORAGE BANKA | GESTION | ENTRAINEMENT

Cliquez pour voir le profil professionnel


OR
  or
  chimie d'or
  gold transport
  gold production
Géologie d'Or
  dépôts
alluvionnaires

  dépôts primaires
  gold maps
Histoire d'Or
  traditions d'or
  primitive
  classique
  médiéval
  renaissance
  après-renaissance

DIAMONDS
  diamonds
  exploration
  diamond production
  commerce des diamants
  diamond value
  diamond wars
  coupe du diamant
Histoire du diamand
  mining history
  grands et fameux
Images des Diamants
  images des diamants
Pierres Précieuses
  rubies
  sapphires
  emeralds
  aquamarines
  gem cutting

EXPLORATION ALLUVIAL
  survey
Foreuses BANKA
  drilling manual
  HAND drills
  drill parts
  tools 1
  tools 2
  tools 3
  tools 4
  MOTOR drills

EXPLOITATION ALLUVIAL
example
Engines
DEUTZ engines
diesel-engines
Equipments
mining systems
gravel pumps
water pumps
high pressure
 water pumps

pump stands
couplings
engine-pump frames
Pipes, Hoses, etc.
water systems
Recovery systems
recovery systems
gold recovery
diamond recovery
River Dredges
diver-less dredges
Accessories
generators
firefighting pumps
Trucks 4x4
4x4 trucks
Spare Parts
parts
Pricing
Prices

SERVICES
photogéologie
sismique
gestion
profil professionel
photos
contact

english version - the english version la versíon española - la versíon española

DIAMANT

La Coupe du diamant

Les principes généraux d'art de la coupe de pierre précieuse ont déjà été considérés; cependant, la coupe du diamant à cause du clivage parfait et la dureté énorme de la pierre, exige des méthodes spéciales qui doivent être considérées séparément.

Comme nous avons vu, les diamants sont coupés le plus fréquemment en forme de brillant. Cette forme est comparable à cela d'un octaèdre dont deux coins en face ont été tronqués. Un octaèdre tronqué, par conséquent, peut être transformé en un brillant en ajoutant simplement les facettes nécessaires; d'où la forme du cristal lequel peut être coupé le plus commodément un brillant, est l'octaèdre. Les cristaux de la forme montrés dans (Fig. n et Fig. o) par conséquent conviennent spécialement pour les façonner en brillants. Le dodécaédron rhombique et l'hexakis octaèdre (Fig. c et Fig. d) aussi conviennent; mais les pierres dont la forme diffère largement de l'octaèdre régulier, par exemple Fig. e et Fig. f; ne peuvent pas être transformé ainsi facilement en brillants. Avant que une telle pierre soit facettée, elle est réduite par le clivage à la forme d'octahedra pour éviter le processus fatigant du broyage des portions qui ont besoin d'être enlevé. La propriété du clivage est alors très utile au coupeur du diamant, car elle épargne beaucoup le travaille du broyage, plus les fragments enlevés par le clivage peuvent être utilisés pour les façonner en plus petites pierres précieuses; en plus, la propriété peut être utiliser pour enlever les portions défectueuses d'une pierre ou de diviser une grande pierre de forme mal assortie en plusieurs plus petites. Cependant, l'opération est une qui demande le plus grand soin; l'ouvrier devrait être capable non seulement à détecter la direction du clivage de la forme extérieure du diamant rugueux, mais aussi de reconnaître l'existence du jumelage dans un cristal. Toute tentative à fendre un cristal jumelé ou fendre une pierre ordinaire dans une mauvaise direction, résultera probablement plus ou moins en la fracture complète de la pierre.

L'opération de fendre un diamant est confié aux ouvriers compétents est maintenant exécutée en cette manière: La pierre à être clivée est arrangée à la fin d'une manche avec du ciment, tel qu'un mélange de gomme-laque, térébenthine, et poussière de la brique la plus fine, et dans une telle position que la direction du clivage est parallèle à la longueur de la manche. Un deuxième diamant avec un bord projetant est fixé sur une manche semblable avec le bord arrangé au-dessus. En frottant le bord tranchant du deuxième diamant contre le premier, une entaille, dans la direction dans laquelle la pierre doit être clivée, est coupée à une profondeur suffisante. La manche qui supporte ce diamant est mis sur une base élastique ferme, un ciseau fort et affilé, est placé dans la direction adéquate dans l'entaille, et le clivage est effectué en négociant un seul coup vif avec un marteau au ciseau. En chauffant, on peut défaire le ciment, et la pierre est placé dans une autre position si on désire la fendre dans une autre direction. La poudre produite quand l'entaille est faite est attrapée dans une petite boîte fournie d'un crible, et est utilisée dans le processus de polissage.

Il a été déclaré par Tavernier que la coutume de fendre les diamants a été pratiquée en Inde depuis les temps anciens; en Europe, cependant, l'art a été acquis beaucoup plus récemment, et est dit pour commençait avec le pharmacien et physicien anglais Wollaston (1766-1828), de qui on a raconté qu'il lui a été permis de se débarrasser de la pierre à un profit considérable en fendant les portions extérieures défectueuses d'un grand diamant.

Les pierres qui, par la nature ou par la main d'homme, ont été données la forme d'un octaèdre ayant déjà la forme du brillant, peuvent être facetter immédiatement. Le travail de couper les facettes est facilité par une opération préliminaire qu'est confiée aux ouvriers spéciaux et n'est pas exécutée dans le processus de couper toute autre pierre précieuse. Cette opération par laquelle la forme et la place des facettes sont tracées en gros en frottant ou grisonnant la pierre, est connu comme "bruting" (broyage). La pierre est arrangée à la fin d'une manche, et, avec l'exception de la région sur laquelle la facette sera faite, est enfoncé dans un ciment ou dans un alliage fusible du plomb et fer-blanc. La portion projetant est frottée avec une pression forte sur la portion projetant d'une autre pierre montée de la même façon préparant une facette dans la place approximativement correcte et avec une surface assez égale mais rude sur chacune des pierres. La poudre abrasée des deux pierres pendant l'opération est conservée avec soin pour usage durant le polissage. Pendant l'opération de grisonner, lequel, à propos, dérive son nom de l'apparence métallique grise des facettes si faites, le sur-chauffage de la pierre par frottement doit être évité avec soin, car il mène au développement des flocons glacés à l'intérieur du diamant. Cette opération est assistée par un son grinçant particulier qui est dit pour être si caractéristique que seul le propriétaire d'une oreille experte peut déterminer si les deux pierres qui sont frottées ensemble sont des diamants ou les pierres précieuses moins dures.

À l'achèvement de la première étape d'opération la pierre est enlevée en chauffant le ciment ou alliage, et est placée dans une autre position, et les plus grandes facettes restantes sont tracées successivement de la même façon. Les plus petites facettes ne sont pas tracées ainsi par une opération préliminaire, mais par le processus subséquent du polissage. Les pierres, quand prêt pour le processus de polissage sont bornées par plusieurs facettes assez égales, rugueuses, avec un éclat gris, quelque peu métallique; elles n'ont plus l'apparence de diamants, mais ressemble à gris émoussé corps métalliques avec les contours généraux de la forme de la pierre coupée va finalement prendre.

Dans le processus combiné du broyage et polissage, des facettes préliminaires qui peuvent être légèrement inexactes sont rendues strictement exact par le polissage, leurs surfaces rugueuses sont rendues lisses et brillantes, et les plus petites facettes sont ajoutées. Le processus de la coupe est le même comme dans le cas d'autres pierres précieuses, le diamant est incrusté dans l'alliage fusible d'un dop et est placé sur le disque de polissage. Durant le polissage du diamant le disque doit être chargé avec la poudre du diamant qui a bien sûr a la même dureté comme la pierre elle-même. Les opérations de broyage et polissage prend place simultanément, et tout polissage séparé est superflu. Toute la saleté ou la matière étrangère qui peuvent adhérer à la pierre après le processus de coupe sont enlevées par le traitement avec la fine cendre d'os.

Dans le processus de coupe il est important dans laquelle direction le disque de polissage turne à travers la facette qui est travaillée. À cause du fait que le diamant, aussi bien qu'autres pierres précieuses, a un degré différent de la dureté dans les directions différentes, le polissage de ses facettes peut être accompli comparativement avec plus grande facilité dans quelques directions, pendant que dans les autres le processus est extrêmement pénible. Pour éviter le dommage à la pierre et au disque de polissage, le diamant doit être poli "avec le grain"; et l'opérateur devrait se rendre familier avec ces directions de résistance plus faible, autrement son travail sera prolongé inutilement. Par exemple, quand la table d'un brillant sera développé sur un octaèdre, le disque broyeur devrait se déplacer de centre au centre de deux faces en face d'octahedra; si a autorisé à déplacer du bord au bord, la facette peut être développée seulement avec la plus grande difficulté, car dans cette direction la dureté du diamant est beaucoup plus grande que dans l'autre.

Les directions de dureté la plus petite sur les facettes du brillant.

Les flèches indiquent les directions de résistance la plus petite à polir sur chacune des facettes d'un brillant. Les grandes facettes de quatre-côtés au-dessus et au-dessous, à droite et à gauche de la table sont les faces de l'octaèdre.

[ LA PROCHAINE PAGE


Les liens associés: ~EN ARRIÈRE PAGE SUIVANTE

RECOMMANDEZ CETTE PAGE:

Sismique 


Rafal Swiecki, ingénieur géologue contacte par courriel

Ce document est dans le domaine publique.

March, 2011

Green hell in red world

ALLUVIAL EXPLORATION & MINING
PHOTOGEOLOGY | SEISMIC SURVEY | BANKA DRILLING | MANAGEMENT | TRAINING

Click to see a professional profile


GOLD
  gold
  gold chemistry
  gold transport
  gold production
Gold Geology
  alluvial deposits
  primary deposits
  gold maps
Gold History
  gold lore
  primitive
  classic
  medieval
  renaissance
  post-renaissance

DIAMONDS
  diamonds
  exploration
  diamond production
  diamond trade
  diamond value
  diamond wars
  diamond cutting
Diamonds History
  mining history
  large and famous
Diamond Pictures
  diamond pictures
Precious Stones
  rubies
  sapphires
  emeralds
  aquamarines
  gem cutting

ALLUVIAL EXPLORATION
  survey
BANKA Alluvial Drills
  drilling manual
  HAND drills
  drill parts
  tools 1
  tools 2
  tools 3
  tools 4
  MOTOR drills

ALLUVIAL MINING
example
Engines
DEUTZ engines
diesel-engines
Equipments
mining systems
gravel pumps
water pumps
high pressure
 water pumps

pump stands
couplings
engine-pump frames
Pipes, Hoses, etc.
water systems
Recovery systems
recovery systems
gold recovery
diamond recovery
River Dredges
diver-less dredges
Accessories
generators
firefighting pumps
Trucks 4x4
4x4 trucks
Spare Parts
parts
Pricing
Prices

SERVICES
photo geology
seismic survey
field manager
profile
photos
contact

la version française - la version française la versíon española - la versíon española

DIAMOND

Diamond Cutting

The general principles of the art of gem cutting have been already considered; the cutting of the diamond, however, on account of the perfect cleavage and enormous hardness of the stone, requires special methods, which must be separately considered.

As we have seen, diamonds are most frequently cut in the brilliant form, which form is comparable to that of an octahedron of which two opposite corners have been truncated. A truncated octahedron, therefore, can be transformed into a brilliant by simply adding the necessary facets; hence the form of crystal, which can be most conveniently cut as a brilliant, is the octahedron. Crystals of the form shown in (Fig. n and Fig. o) are therefore specially suited for the fashioning of brilliants. The rhombic dodecahedron and the hexakis-octahedron (Fig. c and Fig. d) are also suitable; but stones, whose form differs widely from that of the regular octahedron, for example Fig. e and Fig. f; cannot be so easily transformed into brilliants. Before such a stone is faceted it is reduced by cleavage to the octahedral form, in order to avoid the tedious process of grinding away portions, which need to be removed. The property of cleavage then is very useful to the diamond-cutter, for not only is he spared much labor in grinding, but the fragments removed by cleavage can be utilized in the fashioning of smaller gems; moreover, the property can be made use of for the purpose of removing the faulty portions of a stone or of dividing a large stone of unsuitable form into several smaller ones. The operation is, however, one which demands the greatest care; the worker should be capable not only of detecting the direction of cleavage from the outward form of the rough diamond, but also of recognizing the existence of twinning in a crystal. Any attempt either to cleave a twinned crystal or to cleave an ordinary stone in a wrong direction, will probably be attended with more or less complete fracture of the stone.

The operation of cleaving a diamond, which is entrusted to trained workmen, is performed in a manner now to be described. The stone to be cleaved is fixed to the end of a rod with some kind of cement, such as a mixture of shellac, turpentine, and the finest brick-dust, and in such a position that the direction of cleavage is parallel to the length of the rod. A second diamond with a projecting edge is fixed to a similar rod with the edge uppermost. By grinding the sharp edge of the second diamond against the first, a nick in the direction in which the stone is to be cleaved is cut to a sufficient depth. The rod supporting this diamond is set on a firm elastic base, a sharp, strong chisel is placed in the proper direction in the nick, and the cleavage effected by dealing the chisel a single sharp blow with a hammer. Heating may loosen the cement, and the stone placed in another position if it is desired to cleave it in another direction. The powder produced when the nick is made is caught in a small box provided with a sieve, and is utilized in the process of grinding.

It has been stated by Tavernier that the custom of cleaving diamonds has been practiced in India since very early times; in Europe, however, the art was acquired much more recently, and is said to have originated with the English chemist and physicist Wollaston (1766-1828), of whom it is related that by cleaving away the faulty exterior portions of a large diamond he was enabled to dispose of the stone at a considerable profit.

Stones which, either by nature or by the hand of man, have been given the shape of an octahedron, have already the ground-form of the brilliant and can be at once faceted. The work of grinding the facets is facilitated by a preliminary operation, which is entrusted to special workers and is not performed in the process of cutting any other gem. This operation, by which the shape and position of the facets are roughly marked out, is known as bruting, rubbing, or graying the stone. The stone to be bruted is fixed to a handle, and, with the exception of the area on which the facet is to be made, is embedded in cement or in a fusible alloy of lead and tin. This projecting portion is rubbed with a strong pressure upon the projecting portion of another stone similarly mounted and prepared, and thus a facet, in approximately the correct position and with a fairly even but rough surface, is developed upon each of the stones. The powder abraded from the two stones during the operation is carefully preserved for use in grinding. During the operation of graying, which, by the way, derives its name from the gray metallic appearance of the facets so made, any over-heating of the stone by friction must be carefully avoided, since it leads to the development of icy flakes in the interior of the diamond. The operation is attended by a peculiar grating sound, which is said to be so characteristic that by this alone the possessor of a practiced ear can determine whether the two stones, which are rubbed together, are diamonds or some less hard gems.

At the completion of the first stage of the operation the stone is removed by warming the cement or alloy, placed in another position, and the remaining larger facets successively marked out in the same way. The smaller facets are not so marked out by a preliminary operation, but by the subsequent process of grinding. When ready for the grinding process the stones are bounded by a number of fairly even, rough faces, with a gray, somewhat metallic luster; they have no longer the appearance of diamonds, but resemble dull gray metallic bodies with the general contours of the form of cutting the stone is finally to take.

In the combined process of grinding and polishing, the preliminary disposition of the facets, which may be slightly incorrect, is rendered strictly accurate by the completion of the grinding, their rough surfaces are rendered smooth and shining, and the smaller facets are added. The grinding process is the same as in the case of other gems, the diamond being imbedded in the fusible alloy of a dop and placed on the grinding disc. Since in the grinding of diamonds the disc must be charged with diamond powder, which of course has the same hardness as the stone itself, the operations of grinding and polishing take place simultaneously, and any separate polishing process is superfluous. Any dirt or foreign matter, which may adhere to the stone after the process of grinding, is removed by treatment with fine bone-ash or tripolite.

In the process of grinding it is by no means immaterial in which direction the grinding disc moves across the facet, which is being worked. Owing to the fact that the diamond, as well as other precious stones, has a different degree of hardness in different directions, the grinding of its facets can be accomplished with comparative ease in some directions, while in others the process is extremely tedious. To avoid injury both to the stone and to the grinding disc, the diamond must be ground "with the grain"; and the operator ought to make himself familiar with these directions of least resistance, otherwise his work will be unnecessarily prolonged. When, for example, the table of a brilliant is to be developed upon an octahedron, the grinding disc should move from center to center of two opposite octahedral faces; if allowed to move from edge to edge, the facet can only be developed with the greatest difficulty, for in this direction the hardness of the diamond is much greater than in the other.

Directions of least hardness on the facets of the brilliant.

Arrows indicate the directions of least resistance to grinding on each of the facets of a brilliant. The large four-sided facets above and below and to the right and left of the table are the faces of the octahedron.

[ NEXT PAGE ]
Diamonds: Large and Famous  Properties  Geology and Mining Diamond Cutting Diamond trade


Related links:
Recomend this page:


Seismic Survey 


Rafal Swiecki, geological engineer email contact

This document is in the public domain.

March, 2011