L'enfer vert dans le monde rouge

EXPLORATION & EXPLOITATION ALLUVIALE
PHOTOGÉOLOGIE | SISMIQUE | FORAGE BANKA | GESTION | ENTRAINEMENT

Cliquez pour voir le profil professionnel


OR
  or
  chimie d'or
  gold transport
  gold production
Géologie d'Or
  dépôts
alluvionnaires

  dépôts primaires
  gold maps
Histoire d'Or
  traditions d'or
  primitive
  classique
  médiéval
  renaissance
  après-renaissance

DIAMONDS
  diamonds
  exploration
  diamond production
  commerce des diamants
  diamond value
  diamond wars
  coupe du diamant
Histoire du diamand
  mining history
  grands et fameux
Images des Diamants
  images des diamants
Pierres Précieuses
  rubies
  sapphires
  emeralds
  aquamarines
  gem cutting

EXPLORATION ALLUVIAL
  survey
Foreuses BANKA
  drilling manual
  HAND drills
  drill parts
  tools 1
  tools 2
  tools 3
  tools 4
  MOTOR drills

EXPLOITATION ALLUVIAL
example
Engines
DEUTZ engines
diesel-engines
Equipments
mining systems
gravel pumps
water pumps
high pressure
 water pumps

pump stands
couplings
engine-pump frames
Pipes, Hoses, etc.
water systems
Recovery systems
recovery systems
gold recovery
diamond recovery
River Dredges
diver-less dredges
Accessories
generators
firefighting pumps
Trucks 4x4
4x4 trucks
Spare Parts
parts
Pricing
Prices

SERVICES
photogéologie
sismique
gestion
profil professionel
photos
contact

LE DIAMANT English version

LES GRANDS ET CÉLÈBRES DIAMANTS (2éme partie)

Un grand diamant de beauté singulière, peut-être le plus parfait de tout, est le Régent ou Pit qui a été partie des bijoux de la couronne français. Dans sa condition brute il était le plus grand de tous les diamants indiens, sa authenticitée est incontestable. Il a été trouvé en 1701 dans les mines Partial sur la rivière Kistna en Inde du sud (ou d'après un autre compte rendu dans la Péninsule Malay), et a été acheté pour £20,400 ($2,216,564) par le gouverneur Pitt de Fort St.. George, Madras. En 1717 le Duc d'Orléans, alors le Régent de France, l'a acquis dans son état rugueux pour 2,000,000 francs. L'opération de coupure a été exécutée à Londres; elle a occupé deux années et a coûté £5,000 ($543,275); le poids de la pierre a réduit de 410 à 136 14/16 carats, et les portions détachées durant la coupe sont restées la propriété du propriétaire antérieur. La pierre coupé (plaque 5, Fig. 8a, 8b, 8c), était un brillant de la plus parfaite forme; sa couleur, cependant, n'atteint pas le même haut niveau de perfection. Durant l'évaluation des bijoux de la couronne français, fait en 1791, ce diamant a été affirmé valoir 12,000,000 francs ($2,199,041). En 1792 il a été volé en compagnie avec beaucoup d'autres bijoux de la couronne, mais a été retrouvé par la suite, et après qu'être mis en gage au temps de la Révolution, a été racheté par Napoléon. Etre un objet d'intérêt général, il n'a pas été disposé d'avec les autres bijoux de la couronne, mais il est resté jusqu'au temps présent le plus bel et précieux des bijoux qui appartiennent à la nation française.

Le "Florentin", "Le Grand Duc de Tuscany" ou le "Autrichien" était un grand diamant dans la trésorerie du palais impérial à Vienne. Il a la forme d'un briolette (plaque 5, Fig. 10a, 10b), avec les facettes arrangées dans neuf groupes qui rayonnent du centre. Son poids est 133 1/5 carats viennois (27.454 grammes), le poids de 139 1/2 carats qui sont donnés quelquefois, étaient les plus petits carats florentins. La pierre est pourtant distinctement jaune, admirablement clair et montre un beau feu. D'après l'habituel mais débattu compte rendu, cette pierre a été coupé par L. van Berquen pour Charles Le Courageux, qui l'a perdu sur le champ de bataille de Granson où il a été trouvé par un soldat Suisse. Après avoir changé des mains fréquemment, il est passé dans la possession du Grand Duc Francis Stephen de Tuscany qui l'a apporté à Vienne.

Le diamant Sancy, une pierre de 53 12/16 carats, pourtant beaucoup plus petite est très semblable dans forme au "Florentine", et est aussi affirmé pour avoir été coupé par L. van Berquen pour Charles Le Courageux. A la mort du dernier, à la bataille de Nancy en 1477, la pierre est supposé avoir été apporté par un soldat au Portugal où le noble français de Sancy l'a acquis et ensuite environ 1600 l'a vendu à Reine Elizabeth d'Angleterre. Il a été retourné en France par Henrietta Maria, la Reine de Charles I, et a passé dans la possession de Cardinal Mazarin comme une garantie. Avec dix-sept autres grands diamants il était laissé par le dernier Louis XIV, et durant l'inventaire, fait en 1791, des bijoux de la couronne française ont été évalués à 1,000,000 francs ($183,253). Au temps de la Révolution il a été volé avec le "Régent ("Pitt"), mais contrairement au dernier n'a pas été retrouvé. Il a réapparu dix années plus tard comme la propriété de la couronne espagnole; de 1828 à 1865 il était dans la possession de Prince Demidoff, qui il a été vendu pour £20,000 ($2,173,102). Il est dit pour devenir alors la propriété du Maharaja de Patiala, et ainsi, après beaucoup de vicissitudes, être revenu à la terre de son origine. Tant d'histoires sont racontées à propos de cette pierre qu'il ne paraît pas improbable que l'histoire des autres diamants grands a été confondue avec cela du "Sancy". Il a été exposé à l'Exposition Paris de 1867, et est représenté sur (plaque 5, Figues. 11a, 11b.)

Le diamant Nassak dérive son nom de son long séjournez dans le temple à Siva à Nassak sur la Rivière Godavari supérieure. De la possession du dernier Prince indépendant de Peshawar, il est passé, en 1818, dans les mains de la Compagnie de Inde de l'Est. En ce temps, il avait une coupe en forme asymétrique et a pesé 89 1/2 carats; la forme dans quelle il a été ré-coupé, à savoir, cela d'un triangulaire brillant, est montré dans (plaque 5, Figues. 13a, 13b, 13c). En 1831 Emanuel, un bijoutier de Londres, l'a acheté pour £7,200 ($801,017), et bientôt après l'a disposé au Duc de Westminister, dans la famille de qui encore il devrait rester.

Le diamant "L'Impératrice Eugénie" est un beau brillant d'origine inconnue, pesant 51 carats. Catherine II de Russie l'a donné à son favori, Potemkin, dans la famille de qu'il est resté jusqu'à que Napoléon III l'a acquis pour un cadeau de mariage à sa mariée Eugénie. Après le détrônement du dernier il est entré dans la possession du Gaikwar de Baroda en Inde.

Le Pigott est un brillant apporté d'Inde en Angleterre vers l'année 1775 par Seigneur Pigott, et après disposé à Ah Pasha, le Vice-roi d'Egypte. Toute la trace de cette pierre a été perdue depuis, et, d'après rapport, il a été détruit. Son poids est donné par Mawe qui a vu la pierre bientôt avant qu'il ait été vendu à Ah Pasha, comme 49 carats, mais autres valeurs jusqu'à 81 1/2 carats ont été donnés à plusieurs temps.

Le "Brillant Blanc Saxon" est un du plus beau des diamants connus; il est carré avec un bord qui mesure 1 1/12 pouces dans longueur, et pèse 48 3/4 carats. Pour cette pierre Auguste le Fort est dit avoir payé 1,000,000 thalers.

Le "Pasha d'Egypte" est un beau brillant de huit-côté de 40 carats, achetés par le Vice-roi Ibrahim d'Egypte pour £28,000 ($3,042,343).

Le comparativement petit diamant connu comme la" Étoile d'Est" surpasse déjà dans la beauté que beaucoup de ceux déjà mentionnés. Sa beauté intrinsèque est absolument sans défaut, et la forme brillante dans quelle il est coupé est parfait. Son poids est 25 13/32 carats viennois (5232 milligrammes), seulement environ un demi du poids des diamants "Impératrice Eugénie" ou "Sancy". Comparé avec ces pierres, cependant, il ne paraît pas plus petit, si parfaits sont ses proportions et si habile sa coupe. Il était dans la possession de l'Archiduc Franz Ferdinand d'Autrichien-Este, fils aîné de l'Archiduc Karl Ludwig. En 1876 il a été évalué à 64,000 florins autrichiens, une évaluation antérieure été de 200,000 à 250,000 francs.

A l'exclusion des diamants jaunes de l'Afrique du Sud, les pierres qui entrent dans la grande dimension avec la beauté de couleur sont rares et sont toute d'origine indienne. De ceux les suivants sont très célèbres:

Le diamant "Bleu Hope" est caractérisé par la possession d'une belle couleur saphir-bleu -une teinte extrêmement rare dans les diamants- mais aussi par un éclat brillant et un beau jeu des couleurs. Son existence a été connue depuis 1830, et il a un temps a formé partie de la collection célèbre des pierres précieuses de Henry Philip Hope qui l'a acheté pour £18,000 ($195,792). Il est un parfait peser brillant 44 1/4 carats. Sa propriétaire définitive est bien connu.

Un beau bleu, triangulaire brillant de 67 2/16 carats, et a été évalué en 1791 à 3,000,000 francs ($550,000), a été conservé parmi les bijoux de la couronne français jusqu'à l'année 1792, quand il a été volé, avec le "Régent" et les autres. Il avait été coupé d'une pierre brute, pesant 112 3/16 carats, apporté d'Inde par Tavernier pour Louis XIV. Il y a des raisons substantielles pour la suggestion que ce brillant, qu'a été volé, a été divisé, et les parties ré-coupés ont été placées sur le marché environ 1830 dans les nouvelles formes. Il est très possible que le "Bleu Hope" diamant soit une de ces portions; une autre existence est une pierre de 13 3/4 carats du même couleur bleu, et autrefois dans la possession de Duc Karl de Brunswick qui l'a vendu en 1874 à Genève pour 17,000 francs; la troisième portion peut être identique avec une pierre de 1 1/4 carats du même couleur, une fois acheté pour £300 ($32,600) et maintenant dans la possession d'une famille anglaise.

Le diamant Dresden Green, conservé à Dresden, est le représentant le plus célèbre des pierres de cette couleur. Il est du même vert de la pomme clair, intermédiaire entre le couleur d'émeraude et chrysoprase, parfaitement transparent et sans défaut. Il a la forme d'amande, 1 1/12 pouces longs et 5/6 pouces épais, et pèse 40 carats, pas, comme est affirmé quelquefois, 31 1/4 ou 48 carats. Depuis 1743, il a été la propriété de la couronne Saxonne, et 60,000 thalers, on dit, a payé Auguste le Fort pour l'avoir.

Les diamants célèbre pour leur dimension sont venus aussi de Brésil, les deux pierres grands ont trouvé, dans les années cinquante du dix-neuvième siècle, dans le district de Bagagem, dans la partie ouest de Minas Geraes les deux ont été acquis par Gaikwar de Baroda, un achat qui paraîtrait indiquer que Inde ne peut pas satisfaire le goût de ses princes natals pour les bijoux magnifiques.

La "Étoile du Sud", trouvée à la fin de juillet 1853, est une de ces deux diamants Brésiliens célèbres. la pierre brute qui a été examiné par le minéralogiste français Dufrenoy, a été décrit comme être un dodecahedron rhombique irrégulier avec les faces convexes pesant 254 1/2 carats. .
Le diamant 'Étoile du Sud'
Fig. 2 Le diamant "Étoile du Sud". Deux vues de la pierre brute (dimension naturelle).

La pierre a montré dans quelques places petites impressions de l'octahedral des autres diamants, comme si le diamant plus grand une fois faisait partie d'un groupe des cristaux; dans les autres places le clivage octahedral était visible. Quelques petites plaques noires, incluses dans la pierre, ont été considérées pour être l'ilmenite (minerai du fer titanifer), car ce minéral a été montré être comme une inclusion dans le diamant. La pierre brute est allé chercher 430 reis du contos, environ £40,000 de 1900. Il a été coupé à Amsterdam, et a produit un beau pur brillant de 125 carats (plaque 5, Fig. 9a, 9b, 9c) qui a été acheté par Gaikwar de Baroda pour £80,000 ($8,900,196).

Le diamant de M. E. Dresden a été trouvé à la même place comme la pierre avant-mentionné, et presque en même temps. Il a pesé 119 1/2 carats, et était par conséquent plus petit que le "Étoile du Sud", et son apparence a suggéré qu'il puisse être un fragment d'un cristal plus grand. Il a été transformé dans un brillant en forme d'un oeuf (Plaque 4, Fig. 7b, 7c) de 76 1/2 carats, le processus de coupe n'impliquer pas, dans ce cas, une très grande perte de matière.

Il a déjà été mentionné que le grand diamant supposé être "Braganza", est venu de Brésil. Quelques autres grands diamants brésiliens ont été mentionnés sous la description des dépôts brésiliens.

Le diamant 'Presidente Vargas'(Une information de: M. Iran F. Machado, PhD, professeur avec l'Institut de Geosciences, Université d'État de Campinas-UNICAMP, Brésil) "En réalité, le diamant Brézilien le plus grand jamais trouvé (en 1938) était le Presidente Vargas (726.6 carats), et pas la Étoile du Sud (Estrela do Sul, en portugais) - 254.5 carats. 51 pierres pesant plus de 100 carats, ont été trouvés au Brésil jusqu'à 1986. Les grandes pierres sont encore trouvées, de nos jours, à Minas Geraes ouest. L'année 2001, pendant le 31ème. Congrès Géologique international, tenu à Rio de Janeiro, j'avais l'occasion pour présenter un poster au sujet du Presidente Vargas, le plus grand diamant rugueux trouvé en Amériques. Une image graphique d'ordinateur reconstruite de vieilles photographies de 1938/1939 est attachée."

Seulement quelques-uns des diamants grands, qui ont été trouvés en Afrique du Sud, sont distingués par les noms spéciaux. Quelques-uns de ceux-ci ont été découverts et nommés avant que l'abondance comparative des grandes pierres dans ces dépôts soit sue; autres, cependant, de loin surpassent autres grands diamants dans les dimensions et les beautés, qu'il soit parfaitement normal, qu'ils devraient recevoir des noms distinctifs

Le premier diamant grand trouvé dans ce pays a été découvert en 1869 dans les excavations de la rivière, et est connu comme la "Étoile d'Afrique du Sud". Il a pesé 83 1/2 carats, et a formé, une fois coupé, un brillant ovale de trois-cotés (plaque 5, Fig. 14) de 46 1/2 carats de l'eau la plus pure, comparable avec le meilleur pierres indiennes et brésiliennes. Il a été vendu à la Comtesse de Dudley pour presque £25,000 ($3,476,638), et s'est connu quelquefois, par conséquent, comme le "diamant Dudley".

Le "Stewart", une pierre beaucoup plus grande, a été trouvé en 1872 dans les excavations de la rivière, connu comme la Plante de Waldeck, sur le Vaal. Il a pesé 288 3/8 carats, et pour beaucoup d'années a été le plus grand des diamants du Cape. La pierre brute a été disposé pour £6,000 ($652,000), en premier lieu, mais encore changeant de mains a fait £9000 ($978,000); elle a donné un légèrement jaunâtre brillant de 120 carats (plaque 4, Fig. 6).

Le diamant Porter Rhodes a été trouvé à Kimberley le 12 février 1880. Son poids a été donné à 150 et 160 carats diversement. Il est une parfaite pierre bleu-blanc, et peut être considéré surpassant, dans sa beauté, tous les autres diamants d'Afrique du Sud. Son propriétaire l'a évalué à £200,000 ($21,731,000).
Le diamant 'Victoria'
Fig. 3 Le diamant "Victoria" de 457 1/2 carats d'Afrique du Sud (dimension réelle)

Une pierre de 457 1/2 carats, des dépôts Afrique du Sud, est venu en 1884 et rien est su comme à son origine exacte. La pierre brute qui avait la forme d'un octaèdre irrégulier, est montré au-dessus dans sa dimension réelle. Un très bel incolore brillant de 180 carats a été coupé qui est diversement connu comme "Victoria", "Impérial", ou "Grand Blanc", et a été évalué en 1900 à £6,200,000 ($673,661,700).

Le grand brillant, de qui l'authenticité est incontestable, a 288 1/2 carats qui ont été coupés d'une pierre de 428 1/2 carats, trouvée le 28 mars 1880, dans la De Bières mine. C'était de couleur jaunâtre et avait la forme d'un octaèdre assez régulier, le contour de qui est montré ici dans sa dimension réelle. Dans la direction de son plus long axe, il a mesuré 1 - 7/8 pouces. Un autre grand diamant, qui a pesé dans le brouillon 655 carats, a été trouvé dans la mine Jagersfontein à la fin de l'année 1895.

Le plus grand de tous les diamants connus est l'Excelsior, après appelé le "Jubilé," en honneur de la célébration du soixantième anniversaire de l'accession de la Reine Victoria. La pierre brute est représenté ici. Il est trouvé dans la mine Jagersfontein dans la Colonie de la Rivière Orange en Afrique du Sud, et a pesé 971 3/4 carats, mesurer 2 1/2 pouces de long, et 2 pouces de large et 1 pouce d'épaisseur, donc surpasse, dans les dimensions, la "Grand Mogul" même, lequel dans sa condition brute est supposé avoir pesé 787 1/2 carats.

Il a été trouvé le 30 juin 1893, par un Kaftir qui a reçu comme une récompense £500 ($54,327) en argent et un cheval équipé avec selle et bride. On dit qu'un accord a existé entre les propriétaires de la mine et certains négociants du diamant par qui les derniers achetaient chaque pierre trouvé dans la mine, pendant une certaine période, à un prix constant par carat. Cette période a terminé le 30 juin, et le "Excelsior" était l'une des dernières pierres à être trouvées ce jour, donc les négociants, au lieu des propriétaires, ont tiré un profit par cette découverte fortunée. La pierre est d'une belle couleur bleu-blanc et de l'eau la plus pure, et a été évalué, en 1895 par experts différents, à montants qui varient entre £50,000 et £1,000,000 ($5,433,000 et $108,655,000). La pierre brute, pourtant de telle perfection, avait une tache noire près du centre de sa masse qui a dû être enlevée en fendant la pierre en deux. De la portion plus grande on a coupé un absolument parfait brillant pesant 239 carats internationaux de 205 milligrammes, et mesurant 1 - 5/8 pouces de long, 1 - 3/8 de largeur, et 1 pouce de profondeur.

Le brillant 'Tiffany'

Fig. 4 Le brillant "Tiffany" (dimension réelle)

Le brillant orange-jaune Tiffany, en possession de la Compagnie Tiffany de New York, est aussi un diamant du Cape. Il est un du plus fin des diamants jaunes, et au temps présent est le plus grand brillant en Amérique, pesant 125 1/2 carats. La forme de la pierre peut être vue au-dessus dans sa dimension réelle.

L'ACHETEUR des DIAMANTS DÉBARQUE... à KURUPUNG, GUYANA


Les liens associés: ~EN ARRIÈRE PAGE SUIVANTE

RECOMMANDEZ CETTE PAGE:

Sismique 


Rafal Swiecki, ingénieur géologue contacte par courriel

Ce document est dans le domaine publique.

March, 2011

Green hell in red world

ALLUVIAL EXPLORATION & MINING
PHOTOGEOLOGY | SEISMIC SURVEY | BANKA DRILLING | MANAGEMENT | TRAINING

Click to see a professional profile


GOLD
  gold
  gold chemistry
  gold transport
  gold production
Gold Geology
  alluvial deposits
  primary deposits
  gold maps
Gold History
  gold lore
  primitive
  classic
  medieval
  renaissance
  post-renaissance

DIAMONDS
  diamonds
  exploration
  diamond production
  diamond trade
  diamond value
  diamond wars
  diamond cutting
Diamonds History
  mining history
  large and famous
Diamond Pictures
  diamond pictures
Precious Stones
  rubies
  sapphires
  emeralds
  aquamarines
  gem cutting

ALLUVIAL EXPLORATION
  survey
BANKA Alluvial Drills
  drilling manual
  HAND drills
  drill parts
  tools 1
  tools 2
  tools 3
  tools 4
  MOTOR drills

ALLUVIAL MINING
example
Engines
DEUTZ engines
diesel-engines
Equipments
mining systems
gravel pumps
water pumps
high pressure
 water pumps

pump stands
couplings
engine-pump frames
Pipes, Hoses, etc.
water systems
Recovery systems
recovery systems
gold recovery
diamond recovery
River Dredges
diver-less dredges
Accessories
generators
firefighting pumps
Trucks 4x4
4x4 trucks
Spare Parts
parts
Pricing
Prices

SERVICES
photo geology
seismic survey
field manager
profile
photos
contact

DIAMOND la version française

LARGE AND FAMOUS DIAMONDS (2nd part)

A large diamond of singular beauty, perhaps the most perfect of all, is the "Regent" or "Pitt", preserved with the French crown jewels. In its rough condition it was the largest of all Indian diamonds, the genuineness of which is unquestionable. It was found in 1701 in the Partial mines on the river Kistna in southern India (or according to another account in the Malay Peninsula), and was bought for £20,400 ($2,216,564) by Governor Pitt of Fort St. George, Madras. In 1717 the Duke of Orleans, then Regent of France, acquired it in its rough state for 2,000,000 francs. The operation of cutting was performed in London; it occupied two years and cost £5,000 ($543,275); the weight of the stone reduced from 410 to 136 14/16 carats, and the portions detached in the cuttings remained the property of the former owner. The stone when cut (Plate 5 Figs. 8a, 8b, 8c), was a brilliant of the most perfect form; its colour, however, does not reach the same high standard of perfection. In the valuation of the French crown jewels, made in 1791, this diamond was stated to be worth 12,000,000 francs. In 1792 it was stolen in company with many other crown jewels, but was subsequently recovered, and after being pledged at the time of the Revolution was redeemed by Napoleon. Being an object of general interest, it was not disposed of with the other crown jewels, but has remained up to the present time one of the most beautiful and valuable of the jewels belonging to the French nation.

The "Florentine", "The Great Duke of Tuscany" or the "Austrian" was a large diamond in the treasury of the imperial Palace at Vienna. It has the form of a briolette (Plate 5 Fig. 10a, 10b), with the facets arranged in nine groups radiating from the center. Its weight is 133 1/5 Vienna carats (27.454 grams), the weight of 139 1/2 carats, which is sometimes given, being the smaller Florentine carats. The stone though distinctly yellow in colour, is beautifully clear and shows a fine fire. According to the usual but disputed account, this stone was cut by L. van Berquen for Charles the Bold, who lost it on the battlefield of Granson, where it was found by a Swiss soldier. After frequently changing hands, it passed into the possession of the Grand Duke Francis Stephen of Tuscany, who brought it to Viena.

The "Sancy" diamond, a stone of 53 12/16 carats, though much smaller is very similar in form to the "Florentine", and is also stated to have been cut by L. van Berquen for Charles the Bold. At the death of the latter, at the battle of Nancy in 1477, the stone is supposed to have been taken by a soldier to Portugal, where the French nobleman de Sancy acquired it, and later, about 1600, sold it to Queen Elizabeth of England,. It was carried back to France by Henrietta Maria, the Queen of Charles I., and passed into the possession of Cardinal Mazarin as a pledge. Together with seventeen other large diamonds it was left by the latter to Louis XIV, and in the inventory, made in 1791, of the French crown jewels was valued at 1,000,000 francs ($183,253). At the time of the Revolution it was stolen in company with the "Regent ("Pitt"), but unlike the latter was not recovered. It reappeared ten years later as the property of the Spanish crown; from 1828 to 1865 it was in the possession of Prince Demidoff, by whom it was sold for £20,000 ($2,173,102). It is said then to become the property of the Maharaja of Patiala, and so, after many vicissitudes, to have returned to the land of its origin. So many stories are related of this stone that it seems not improbable that the history of other large diamonds has been confused with that of the "Sancy." It was exhibited at the Paris Exhibition of 1867, and is figured in (Plate 5, Figs. 11a, 11b.)

The "Nassak" diamond derives its name from its long sojourn in the temple to Siva at Nassak on the upper Godavari River. From the possession of the last independent Prince of Peshawar, it passed in 1818 into the hands of the East India Company. At that time it was of an unsymmetrical cut-form and weighed 89 1/2 carats; the form in which it was re-cut, namely, that of a triangular brilliant, is shown in ( Plate 5, Figs. 13a, 136, 13c) In 1831 Emanuel, a London jeweller, who soon afterwards disposed of it to the Duke of Westminister, in whose family it still should remain, bought it for £7,200 ($801,017).

The "Empress Eugenie" diamond is a beautiful brilliant of unknown origin, weighing 51 carats. Catharine II of Russia gave it to her favourite, Potemkin, in whose family it remained until Napoleon III acquired it for a wedding-gift to his bride Eugenie. After the dethronement of the latter it came into the possession of the Gaikwar of Baroda in India.

The "Pigott" is a brilliant brought by Lord Pigott from India to England about the year 1775, and afterwards disposed of to Ah Pasha, the Viceroy of Egypt. All trace of this stone has since been lost, and, according to report, it has been destroyed. Its weight is given by Mawe, who saw the stone shortly before it was sold to Ah Pasha, as 49 carats, but other values up to 81 1/2 carats have been given at various times.

The "White Saxon Brilliant" is one of the most beautiful of known diamonds; it is square in outline with an edge measuring 1 1/12 inches in length, and weighs 48 3/4 carats. For this stone August the Strong is said to have paid 1,000,000 thalers.

The "Pasha of Egypt" is a fine eight-sided brilliant of 40 carats, purchased by the Viceroy Ibrahim of Egypt for £28,000 ($3,042,343).

The comparatively small diamond known as the "Star of East" surpasses in beauty many of those already mentioned. Its intrinsic beauty is absolutely flawless, and the brilliant form in which it is cut is as perfect. Its weight is 25 13/32 Vienna carats (5,232 milligrams), only about half the weight, that is to say, of the "Empress Eugenie" or the "Sancy" diamond. Compared with these stones, however, it does not appear sensibly smaller, so perfect are its proportions and so regular the cutting. It was in the possession of the Archduke Franz Ferdinand of Austrian-Este, eldest son of the Archduke Karl Ludwig. In 1876 it was valued at 64,000 Austrian florins, a former valuation having been 200,000 to 250,000 francs.

Excluding the yellow South African diamonds, stones which come in large size with beauty of colour are rare and are all of Indian origin. Of these the following are most famous:

The "Blue Hope" diamond is characterized not only by the possession of a beautiful sapphire-blue colour -an extremely rare tint in diamonds- but also by a brilliant lustre and fine play of colours. Its existence has been known of since 1830, and it at one time formed part of the famous collection of precious stones of Henry Philip Hope, who bought it for £18,000 ($195,792). It is a perfect brilliant weighing 44 1/4 carats. Its final resting place is well known.

A beautiful blue, triangular brilliant of 67 2/16 carats, and valued in 1791 at 3,000,000 francs ($550,000), was preserved among the French crown jewels up to the year 1792, when it was stolen, together with the "Regent" and others. It had been cut from a rough stone, weighing 112 3/16 carats, brought from India by Tavernier for Louis XIV. There are substantial grounds for the suggestion that when this brilliant was stolen it was divided, and the portions re-cut and placed on the market about 1830 in a new form. It is very possible that the "Hope Blue" diamond is one of these portions; another being a stone of 13 3/4 carats of the same blue colour, and formerly in the possession of Duke Karl of Brunswick, who sold it in 1874 in Geneva for 17,000 francs; the third portion may be identical with a stone of 1 1/4 carats of the same colour, once bought for £300 ($32,600) and now in the possession of an English family.

The "Dresden Green" diamond, preserved in the "Green Vaults" of Dresden, is the most famous representative of stones of this colour. It is of a very fine clear apple green, intermediate between the colour of emerald and chrysoprase, perfectly transparent and faultless in every way. It is almond-shaped in form, being 1 1/12 inches long and 5/6 inch thick, and weighs 40 carats, not, as is sometimes stated, 31 1/4 or 48 carats. Since 1743 it has been the property of the Saxon crown, and 60,000 thalers is said to have been paid for it by August the Strong.

Diamonds famous for their size have come from Brazil as well, the two large stones found, in the fifties of the nineteenth century, in the district of Bagagem, in the western part of Minas Geraes, both of which were acquired by the Gaikwar of Baroda, a purchase which would seem to indicate that India can no longer satisfy the taste of her native princes for gorgeous jewels.

The "Star of the South", found at the end of July 1853, is one of these two famous Brazilian diamonds. The rough stone, which was examined by the French mineralogist, Dufrenoy, was described as being an irregular rhombic dodecahedron with convex faces and as weighing 254 1/2 carats.

The diamond 'Star of the South'

Fig. 2 The diamond "Star of the South". Two views of the rough stone.

The stone showed in a few places small octahedral impressions of other diamonds, as if the larger diamond had once formed one of a group of crystals; in other places the octahedral cleavage was discernible. A few small black plates enclosed in the stone have been considered to be ilmenite (titaniferous iron ore), since this mineral has been shown to occur as an enclosure in diamond. The rough stone fetched 430 contos de reis, about £40,000 of 1900. It was cut in Amsterdam, and produced a beautiful pure brilliant of 125 carats (Plate 5, Figs. 9a, 9b, 9c), which was bought by the Gaikwar of Baroda for £80,000 ($8,900,196).

Mr. E. Dresden's diamond was found at the same place as the last-mentioned stone, and almost at the same time. It weighed, in the rough, 119 1/2 carats, and was therefore smaller than the "Star of the South", and its appearance suggested that it might be a fragment of a larger crystal. It was transformed into an egg-shaped brilliant (Plate 4., Figs. 7b, 7c ) of 76 1/2 carats, the process of cutting not involving in this case a very large loss of material.

It has already been mentioned that the supposed large diamond, the "Braganza", came from Brazil. Some other large Brazilian diamonds have been mentioned above under the description of Brazilian deposits, one of these being the large stone found at the beginning of the nineteenth century on the Rio Abaete, in Minas Geraes, as to the history of which nothing is known.

The diamond 'Presidente Vargas' (An information from: Mr. Iran F. Machado, PhD, Professor with the Institute of Geosciences, State University of Campinas-UNICAMP, Brazil) <

> "As a matter of fact, the largest Brazilian diamond ever found (in 1938) was the Presidente Vargas (726.6 carats), and not the Star of the South (Estrela do Sul, in Portuguese) - 254.5 carats.
51 rough stones, weighing over 100 carats, were found in Brazil until 1986. Surprisingly, these large stones are still being found nowadays in West Minas Geraes. Last year, during the 31st. International Geological Congress, held in Rio de Janeiro, I had the opportunity to present a poster about the Presidente Vargas, the largest rough diamond found in the Americas. A computer graphic image of it is also attached, reconstructed from old photographs taken in 1938/1939."

Only a few of the large diamonds which have been found in South Africa are distinguished by special names. Some of these were discovered and named before the comparative abundance of large stones in these deposits was known; others, however, so far surpass other large diamonds in size and beauty that it is only fitting that they should receive distinctive names.

The first large diamond found in this country was discovered in 1869 in the river diggings, and is known as the Star of South Africa. It weighed, in the rough, 83 1/2 carats, and formed, when cut, an oval, three-sided brilliant (Plate 5, Fig. 14) of 46 1/2 carats of the purest water, comparable with the best Indian and Brazilian stones. It was sold to the Countess of Dudley for nearly £25,000 ($3,476,638), and is therefore sometimes referred to as the "Dudley diamond.

The Stewart, a much larger stone, was found in 1872 in the river diggings, known as Waldeck's Plant, on the Vaal. It weighed, in the rough, 288 3/8 carats, and for many years remained the largest of Cape diamonds. The rough stone was first disposed of for £6,000 ($652,000), but on again changing hands made £9,000 ($978,000); it gave a slightly yellowish brilliant of 120 carats (Plate 4., Fig. 6).

The "Porter Rhodes" diamond was found at Kimberley on February 12, 1880. Its weight in the rough has been variously given at 150 and 160 carats. It is a perfectly colourless blue-white stone, and, on the whole, may be considered to surpass all other South African diamonds in beauty. Its owner valued it at £200,000 ($21,731,000).

The 'Victoria' diamond

Fig. 3 The "Victoria" diamond of 457 1/2 carats from South Africa (Actual size)

A stone of 457 1/2 carats, from the South African deposits, reached Europe in 1884, of which nothing as to its exact origin is known. The rough stone, which had the form of an irregular octahedron, is shown above in its actual size. A very beautiful colourless brilliant of 180 carats was cut from it, which is variously known as the "Victoria", "Imperial", or "Great White", and was valued in 1900 at £6,200,000 ($673,661,700).

The largest brilliant, the genuineness of which is unquestionable, is one of 288 1/2 carats, which was cut from a stone of 428 1/2 carats found on March 28, 1880, in the De Beers mine. This was yellowish in colour and had the form of a fairly regular octahedron, the outline of which is shown here in its actual size. In the direction of its longest axis it measured 1 - 7/8 inches. Another large diamond, which weighed in the rough 655 carats, was found in the Jagersfontein mine at the end of the year 1895.

The largest of all known diamonds is the "Excelsior", afterwards called the "Jubilee," in honour of the celebration of the sixtieth anniversary of the accession of Queen Victoria. The rough stone is represented here. It came from the Jagersfontein mine in Orange River Colony in South Africa, and weighed 971 3/4 carats, measuring 2 1/2 inches in length, and 2 inches in breadth, and 1 inch in thickness, thus surpassing in size even the "Great Mogul", which in its rough condition is supposed to have weighed 787 1/2 carats.

It was found on June 30, 1893, by a Kaftir, who received as a reward £500 ($54,327) in money and a horse equipped with saddle and bridle. It is said that an agreement existed between the mine-owners and certain diamond merchants by whom the latter were to purchase every stone found in the mine during a certain period at a uniform price per carat. This period ended on June 30, and the "Excelsior" was one of the last stones to be found on that day, so that the mine-owners instead of the merchants came very near to profiting by this lucky find. The stone is of a beautiful blue-white colour and of the purest water, and has been valued, in 1895 by different experts at amounts, which vary between £50,000 and £1,000,000 ($5,433,000 and $108,655,000). The rough stone, though of such perfection of colour, lustre, and water, had a black spot near the centre of its mass, which had to be removed by cleaving the stone in two. From the larger portion was cut an absolutely perfect brilliant weighing 239 international carats of 205 milligrams, and measuring 1 - 5/8 inches in length, 1 - 3/8 in breadth, and 1 inch in depth.

The 'Tiffany' Brilliant

Fig 4. The "Tiffany" Brilliant (Actual size)

The orange-yellow Tiffany Brilliant, now in the possession of the Tiffany Company of New York, is also a Cape diamond. It is one of the finest of yellow diamonds, and at the present time is the largest brilliant in America, weighing 125 1/2 carats. The form of the stone can be seen above in its actual size.

DIAMOND BUYER'S LANDING... in KURUPUNG, GUYANA
Diamonds: Large and Famous  Properties  Geology and Mining Diamond Cutting Diamond trade


Related links:
Recomend this page:


Seismic Survey 


Rafal Swiecki, geological engineer email contact

This document is in the public domain.

March, 2011